Naspers Chairman awards top prizes

Today Mr Ton Vosloo, chairman of Naspers, presented the group’s top prizes at a luncheon held after the company’s annual general meeting.

This year the Phil Weber Prize for excellence throughout a career within the group went to Clarissa Mack, MIH group executive for regulatory and policy affairs. Also to Charles Searle, head of investment for the Naspers MIH Internet Group. This is the highest accolade bestowed for performance in the group.

As group executive for regulatory and policy affairs at MIH (pay television and internet), Clarissa displayed exceptional leadership qualities in establishing a strong and successful regulatory team. She navigates through the choppy waters of the regulatory environment.

As head of investment for the MIH Internet division, Charles has combined his professional qualifications as chartered accountant with expertise in the internet to drive the acquisitions. This led to stakes in Tencent in China, Mail.ru in Russia and Tradus in Central and Eastern Europe. Charles was instrumental in the listing of Tencent on the Hong Kong stock exchange, a company which is now part of the Hang Seng Index. These were milestone deals in our journey towards diversification.

The Chairman’s Prize recognises a staff member who has walked the extra mile. This year it is awarded to Errol Lotter, a man with a spontaneous laugh and quiet dedication. Errol started working at Die Burger in 1972 as a messenger/driver and has worked with most of the group’s parliamentary journalists.

Each year we award the Order of Tafelberg to a business partner who has made a real difference to our group. The 2010 recipient, Stuart Craib, has built an exceptional partnership with Naspers over the years. Chairman of The Natal Witness Printing & Publishing Company (Pty) Ltd, Stuart is also the third generation of a family that managed South Africa’s oldest newspaper, established in 1846. Years ago, the Craib family founded M-Net with Naspers and four other partners. Over two decades this became a partnership consisting of MultiChoice, SuperSport, MTN and MIH, with Stuart succeeding his father in 1993 as director.